Christopher Hitchens schreibt seine letzte Kolumne für The Nation. Der Grund für seinen Dissens steht im letzten Absatz:

When I began work for The Nation over two decades ago, Victor Navasky described the magazine as a debating ground between liberals and radicals, which was, I thought, well judged. In the past few weeks, though, I have come to realize that the magazine itself takes a side in this argument, and is becoming the voice and the echo chamber of those who truly believe that John Ashcroft is a greater menace than Osama bin Laden. (I too am resolutely opposed to secret imprisonment and terror-hysteria, but not in the same way as I am opposed to those who initiated the aggression, and who are planning future ones.) In these circumstances it seems to me false to continue the association, which is why I have decided to make this "Minority Report" my last one.
In den Absätzen davor: Eine Auseinandersetzung mit Leuten, die gegen einen Krieg gegen den Irak sind; was etwas fundamental anderes ist, als für den Krieg gegen den Irak einzutreten.






Re: Taking sides.

Aus der Hysterie kann man sich nur noch raushalten. Man kann eigentlich nur noch schweigen.


Re: Re: Taking sides.

Ne, eigentlich sollte man argumentieren wie ein Blöder (oder: gerade nicht wie ein Blöder), wenn man die Zeit dazu hat, und ich hab sie grad nicht. Schweigen verstärkt nur Hysterie.